Ninth Station of the Cross

Jesus falls for the third time

There are a series of pictures representing certain aspects in the Passion of Christ, and each one corresponds to a particular incident.

This series is known as The Way of the Cross and this page introduces the Ninth Station.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

Ninth Station

Station 9
He falls for the third time

Near Calvary, the Ninth Station is at the entrance of a Coptic monastery, behind the apse of the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, where the third fall of Jesus is recalled.

Yielding under the weight of the cross, Jesus fell for the third time. But he did not quit - even though the mocking and lashing continued.

Why did Jesus not complain when betrayed by his close friend and trusted disciple Judas? Why did Jesus not complain when denied by Peter? Why did Jesus not complain when the other disciples did not support him in this final hour?

We, like the disciples, can be so pathetically weak.


search 🔍



privacy policy